Ballots set for Local Government Election

The Ordinary Postal Election will be held on Saturday, 21 October 2023 in the City of Karratha for the roles of the Mayor, and three councillors.

Nominations closed on September 7 with five candidates putting their hands up to run for Mayor and 11 nominees vying for three seats on Council.

The nominations are below:

Mayoral Election (1 vacancy – 4 year term)

  • Tony Simpson
  • Pablo Miller
  • Daniel Scott
  • Brenton Johannsen
  • Peter Long

Councillor Election (3 vacancies – 4 year terms)

  • Daniel Scott
  • Kieran Dart
  • Wayne Mothershaw
  • Brenton Johannsen
  • Sarah Roots
  • George Levissianos
  • Bradley Davy
  • Tony Simpson
  • James Corea
  • Joseph Almonte
  • Geoff Harris

Ballot packs will be issued to all electors from 15 September 2023. Follow instructions provided and fill both the mayoral ballot and councillor ballot papers and insert in appropriate ballot paper envelopes.

Replacement packs will be available from the City of Karratha Main Administration Building on Welcome Road Karratha

Your completed vote can be either:

  • Posted: votes must be mailed to WAEC prior to 17 October to ensure they are counted; or
  • Hand delivered: drop it into the secure ballot box between 9 October to 20 October at the City of Karratha Main Administration Building on Welcome Road Karratha
  • Election Day: Electors can drop off their completed voting package at the City of Karratha Council Chambers on Welcome Road, Karratha, and any outreach polling stations within the City of Karratha.

For more information visit: Elections | City of Karratha

Sign up for City of Karratha news:


The City of Karratha has a number of e-newsletters to keep you up to date on a range of topics.

Sign up and select your interests here:

 Arts, Culture and Community Events
 Sport and Recreation
 Business and Economy
 Tenders and Public Notifications

Read our Privacy Policy