Local government elections are a vital part of Western Australia's democratic system. 

The City of Karratha is required to conduct local government elections every two years. These are held on the third Saturday in October.  

Members of Council, comprising a Mayor and 10 Councillors, are elected for four-year terms. Half of the Member’s terms conclude at each biennial election.  

The City has chosen to conduct its ordinary election as a postal election run by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. The Commission appoints a Returning Officer who oversees the elections, includes taking candidate nominations and supervising the count on election night. 

The next ordinary local government elections will be in October 2023. Amendments are proposed to be introduced into Parliament in early 2023 to the Local Government Act 1995 that will result in a reduction in the number of elected members to a maximum of 9 representatives and to include the election of a popularly elected mayor by electors.

View results from 2021 Ordinary Council Election. 

Ward representation



Expiring Term

Dampier WardCr Gillian Furlong2025
Karratha WardCr Margaret Bertling2023
 Cr Daiva Gillam2025
 Cr Geoff Harris2023
 Cr Peter Long (MAYOR)2023
 Cr Travis McNaught2025
 Cr Pablo Miller2025
 Cr Daniel Scott2023
 Cr Jo Waterstrom Muller2025
Wickham/Point Samson/Roebourne/Cossack/Pastoral WardCr Garry Bailey2023
 Cr Kelly Nunn (DEPUTY MAYOR) 2025

Enrol to vote

You can enrol online or complete an enrolment form if you are a resident of the City of Karratha and you want to change your details, or enrol to vote for the first time.

You can use the Enrolment Eligibility Claim form if you are an owner or occupier of land within the City but live in a different ward or different local government district. Please forward this form by email or post to the City as soon as possible to ensure that you are included on the roll for the next election. If your claim is accepted, you will be enrolled on the Owners and Occupiers Roll for the City of Karratha for a period of two ordinary election cycles. After the second election, you will need to re-enrol. 

If you have any questions, please contact the Governance team at the City of Karratha.

External election information

Western Australian Electoral Commission

Department of Local Government and Communities

Western Australian Local Government Association


Sign up for City of Karratha news:


The City of Karratha has a number of e-newsletters to keep you up to date on a range of topics.

Sign up and select your interests here:

 Arts, Culture and Community Events
 Sport and Recreation
 Business and Economy
 Tenders and Public Notifications

Read our Privacy Policy