City of Karratha

Local sports stars shine at 2018 Community Sports Awards

22 Oct 2018

More than 100 members of the local sporting community gathered at the Karratha Leisureplex on Friday evening to celebrate the achievements of local clubs and codes at the sixth annual FUTURECLUBS Community Sports Awards.

Presented by the City of Karratha, Rio Tinto and the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries, the annual awards recognise volunteers, players, officials and coaches, nominated by their peers, who have made a significant contribution to their code.

City of Karratha Mayor Peter Long said the annual awards were an opportunity for the City to showcase the talent of local sports stars and excellence within the thriving sporting scene.

“Not only do these annual awards acknowledge local athletes’ sporting prowess, they celebrate the commitment and countless hours of work behind the scenes by volunteers involved with more than 100 diverse sporting groups, ranging from boxing to water polo,” Cr Long said.

“It was great to see so many high caliber nominations once again this year. Congratulations to all the nominees – your nomination is a testament to the respect your team and club have for you. The award recipients should be very proud of their passion and dedication.”

Cr Long said the sports awards were also a reflection of the success of the City’s club development program.

“Our FUTURECLUBS club development program offers support and assistance to local sporting clubs and associations with their continued growth and development,” Cr Long said.

FUTURECLUBS is a City of Karratha, Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries and Rio Tinto initiative.

The 2018 FUTURECLUBS Community Sports Award recipients are:

  • Novo Resources Junior Sportswoman of the Year – Sophie Taylor
  • Rio Tinto Junior Sportsman of the Year – Max Grasso
  • Rio Tinto Sportswoman of the Year – Cheyenne Wailu
  • CITIC Pacific Mining Sportsman of the Year – Cody Scale
  • Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries Coach of the Year – Gavin O’Brien
  • Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries Official of the Year – Simi Cagilaba
  • Red FM/Spirit Radio Volunteer of the Year – Lisa Moore
  • City of Karratha Sporting Group of the Year – Karratha Junior Rugby League.