City of Karratha

Karratha to host international mining conference

17 Jun 2019

Karratha has been announced as the host destination for an international development and mining conference.

The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Meeting of Mining Regions and Cities will travel to the Red Earth Arts Precinct in July 2020.

The event was hosted by Chile in 2017 and Darwin in 2018.

The OECD is an intergovernmental economic organisation, comprising 36 member countries including Australia, which aims to stimulate economic progress and world trade.

The 3rd Meeting of Mining Regions and Cities was held in Skelleftea in Sweden last week.

City of Karratha Mayor Peter Long and chief executive officer Chris Adams attended the three-day event and delivered presentations outlining the City’s global economic significance, preparations for future economic growth and positive outcomes of working cooperatively and collaboratively with the resources sector.

Cr Long said Council was thrilled to secure hosting rights for the international event, which was expected to attract approximately 300 delegates to the City of Karratha.

“Securing this high-profile conference is a coup for the City of Karratha and opportunity to showcase our ongoing efforts to become Australia’s most liveable regional city,” Cr Long said.

“Hosting the OECD Meeting of Mining Regions and Cities will promote our status as a City of the North to an international contingent of representatives from all levels of government and the private sector.

“We expect these high-profile visitors to stimulate our local economy, support local businesses and potentially generate interest in economic investment.

“Council recognises our region’s position at the forefront of innovation shaping the future of the mining industry, and looks forward to participating in discussions about mining and regional development with world leaders and policy-makers.”

More information on the 4th OECD Meeting of Mining Regions and Cities – Karratha, Australia, will be released in coming months.

Image credit: Patrick Trägårdh