City of Karratha

Council Election Results

25 Oct 2017

A new-look City of Karratha Council was officially sworn in at a Special Council Meeting on Monday 23 October following the 2017 Local Government Elections held over the weekend.

A total of 16 candidates contested five vacancies across the Karratha and Wickham/Point Samson/Roebourne/Cossack/Pastoral wards, each for a term of four years.

Georgia Evans was elected unopposed in the Dampier Ward and Kelly Nunn was voted in for the Wickham/Point Samson/Roebourne/Cossack/Pastoral Ward, joining existing Councillor, Garry Bailey.

Cr Evette Smeathers retained her seat and was voted in alongside new Councilors Pablo Miller, George Levissianos and Jo Waterstrom Muller. The four join Cr Grant Cucel, Cr Daniel Scott, Cr Peter Long and Cr Margaret Bertling in the Karratha Ward.

The Special Council Meeting also saw the re-election of Cr Peter Long as City of Karratha Mayor with Cr Grant Cucel voted in as Deputy Mayor.

City of Karratha Mayor Peter Long said he was looking forward to working with the new Council and thanked outgoing Councillors for their hard work and commitment to the community.

“Congratulations to each of our new and returning Councillors. I am looking forward to working together and building on the momentum of this past Council, continuing to provide exceptional amenity and services to the City of Karratha community as we strive to achive our vision of becoming Australia’s most livable regional city,” he said.

“I would also like to thank our outgoing Councillors, John Lally, Fiona White-Hartig, Geoff Harris, Bart Parsons and Robin Vandenberg for all their hard work throughout their terms on Council,” he added.

“Together we have made some important and positive decisions to move the City of Karratha forward and your time, energy and input has been valued.”

More than 30% of registered electors participated in the City of Karratha Local Government Elections.

For full elections results see