City of Karratha

City celebrates sporting stars and stalwarts at 2019 Community Sports Awards

04 Nov 2019

Members of the City of Karratha sporting community gathered at the Karratha Leisureplex on Friday evening to celebrate the achievements of local clubs and codes at the annual FUTURECLUBS Community Sports Awards.

Presented by the City of Karratha, Rio Tinto and the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries, the awards recognise players, coaches, officials and volunteers who have made a significant contribution to their sporting code.

Now in their seventh year, the awards are based on nominations submitted by peers with this year’s awards attracting a record 77 nominations.

City of Karratha Mayor Peter Long said the Community Sports Awards were an opportunity to showcase the talent and dedication of the thriving local sporting scene.

“These awards recognise local athletes’ sporting prowess and the commitment of the many volunteers who are involved with more than 110 sporting groups across the City of Karratha,” Cr Long said.

“The time and effort involved with each season of this impressive number of diverse sporting groups and associations, covering codes from hockey to game fishing, is significant and worthy of celebration.

“It was great to see a record number of nominations this year and I would like to congratulate all the nominees and award recipients.

“These awards are a reflection of the success of the City’s FUTURECLUBS club development program, which offers support and assistance to local sporting clubs and associations so they can continue to grow.”

FUTURECLUBS is a City of Karratha, Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries and Rio Tinto initiative.

2019 FUTURECLUBS Community Sports Award recipients:

  • NOVO Resources Junior Sportswoman – Madilyn Strange for her achievements in netball, basketball and school sports. Madilyn is a Pilbara Sports Academy athlete after being talent scouted by Netball WA North West and Basketball WA. Madilyn broke several interschool athletics records for St Luke’s College in 2019.
  • NOVO Resources Junior Sportsman – Wickham’s Lawson Humphries for his many achievements in 2019, including vice-captain of the West Pilbara Junior Cricket Association team at the Country Week Cricket Championships. He recorded the highest batting aggregate and average for WPJCA and took the highest number of catches. Lawson now boards at Hale School following his selection in the WA AFL State U16’s Academy and representing WA in the National AFL U16 Championships. Lawson was recently accepted by the West Coast Eagles’ Next Generation Academy.
  • Rio Tinto Sportswoman – Chelsea Slater for being selected as Tequiras Netball Club’s Division 1 Most Valuable Player and Karratha Netball Association’s MVP for 2019. She represented Karratha at the North West Championships, where she was selected in the All Stars team.
  • Pilbara Ports Authority Sportsman – Daniel Farmer Jr from the Karratha Kats Football Club for a successful 2019 season culminating in his selection in the WA State Country Team. He also won leading goal kicker for Karratha Kats and the 2019 Landmark Rising Star Award at the Country Football Championships.
  • Sport and Recreation WA Official of the Year – David King for a successful year as the premier umpire for the West Pilbara Softball Organisation. He has worked tirelessly to achieve his Level 2 umpiring accreditation and uses his skills to mentor up-and-coming umpires through the Green Shirt Program. Dave is highly respected for his knowledge and execution of the rules and game fairness.
  • Red FM/Spirit Radio Coach of the Year – Marcel Sladen from the newly formed Baynton Lions Football Club for his success as a coach in the local junior soccer competition. Marcel is considered a high performance coach and this was highlighted by the Karratha Districts Junior Soccer Association’s first Division A win at Country Week in October.
  • CITIC Pacific Volunteer – Leanne Mott for her time and effort towards the resurgence and success of the Nor West Jockey Club’s 2019 racing season. She was also instrumental in negotiating SKY Network coverage of the City of Karratha Ladies Day and all four racing events in 2020.
  • City of Karratha Sporting Group – Wickham Wolves Football Club for a successful year winning both the NPFL’s League and Reserves Premierships in 2019, which was the result of hard work and good governance by committee members, players, coaches and supporters. The Wickham Wolves have developed an inclusive culture within the club for senior and junior players from Wickham, Point Samson and Roebourne.
  • City of Karratha Long Service AwardsAndrew Carpenter from the Nickol Bay Sports Fishing Club, Janet Nicholson from Karratha Gymnastics Club and Shane Harris from Karratha Kats Football and Sporting Club for over 20 years’ consecutive service to community sport.

Pictured: 2019 FUTURECLUBS Community Sports Awards recipients with guest speaker former Australian professional rugby league and union player Wendell Sailor. Credit: City of Karratha