City of Karratha

Local Government Election

This page lets you know who your elected members of Council are, the wards they represent and their terms. Additionally we also provide for your reference information on the City’s election process and key dates.

Click here for 2015 City of Karratha Local Government Election Results 


Local Government Elections

The City of Karratha is required to conduct local government elections every second year on the third Saturday in October. The Members of Council (Mayor and 10 Councillors) are elected for four year terms, with half of the Members of Council’s terms concluding at each biennial election.

The City's elections are conducted as postal elections by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. The Commission appoints a Returning Officer who oversees the elections which includes taking candidate nominations and supervising the count on election night.

The next date for ordinary local goverment elections is 21 October, 2017.

Visit the WA Electoral Commission's website to check if you're on the electoral roll.



Australian Electoral Commission - Enrol to Vote for Commonwealth.
Enrolments have closed for the 2015 Local Goverment Elections but you can make sure your name is on the electoral roll and keep your details up to date at

City of Karratha Enrolment Eligibility Claim Form (PDF)

City of Karratha Application to Register a Nominee for a Body Corporate (PDF)

City of Karratha Application to Register a Nominee for Co-owners and Co-occupiers (PDF)


Ward Representation

Members of Council are represented amongst electors from each of the Wards and are elected to serve the whole local government district.  The City of Karratha is currently represented by:



Expiring term

Dampier Ward

Cr John Lally





Karratha Ward

Cr Margaret Bertling



Cr Grant Cucel



Cr Peter Long



Cr Bart Parsons


 Cr Daniel Scott2019


Cr Evette Smeathers



Cr Robin Vandenberg



Cr Geoff Harris



Wickham/Point Samson/Roebourne/Cossack/Pastoral Ward

Cr Garry Bailey



Cr Fiona White-Hartig


Dampier Ward Boundary (click image for full size)


Karratha Ward Boundary (click image for full size)


Wickham/Point Samson/Roebourne/ Cossack/Pastoral Ward (click image for full size)


Other Websites links

Western Australian Electoral Commission (link - )

Department of Local Government and Communities (link - )

Western Australian Local Government Association (link - )

Further resource material...

Various resources have been produced by the Department of Local Government and the Western Australian Local Government Association.

Standing for Council – Information for candidates (link to PDF)

Local Government Elections – FAQ (link to PDF)


For further information please contact the City of Karratha on 9186 8555.